The chronicles of an online poker player

Instant Tragedy

December 13, 2009 at 11:29 pm

Let’s look …

Even though this is just my last three tourneys I wanted to examine a couple of things.

The buy in isn’t what I’m looking at…

What I am looking at is a factor that I think is important in my play since I started back up again.

Pots Won without showdown.

I think the more pots that you can make bets where it isn’t worth the person to call you down or let them know that you have the nuts the better you are.

I’m just concerned about my showdown percentages…

But what do you think?

PokerStars Tournament #221702261, No Limit Hold’em
Buy-In: $5.00/$0.40 USD
10 players
Total Prize Pool: $50.00 USD
Tournament started 2009/12/13 21:58:20 CT [2009/12/13 22:58:20 ET]
Tournament finished 2009/12/13 23:17:41 CT [2009/12/14 0:17:41 ET]
1: Radiopd (Lubbock), $10.00 (20%)

You finished in 1st place (eliminated at hand #36667348118).

90 hands played and saw flop:
– 8 times out of 13 while in small blind      (62%)
– 4 times out of 13 while in big blind      (31%)
– 5 times out of 64 in other positions      (8%)
– a total of 17 times out of 90      (19%)

Pots won at showdown – 1 out of 4      (25%)
Pots won without showdown – 15

PokerStars Tournament #221589776, No Limit Hold’em
Buy-In: $5.00/$0.40 USD
10 players
Total Prize Pool: $50.00 USD
Tournament started 2009/12/13 14:50:10 CT [2009/12/13 15:50:10 ET]
Tournament finished 2009/12/13 15:29:33 CT [2009/12/13 16:29:33 ET]

2: Radiopd (Lubbock), $10.00 (20%)

You finished in 2nd place (eliminated at hand #36649773350).

49 hands played and saw flop:
– 5 times out of 7 while in small blind      (71%)
– 4 times out of 7 while in big blind      (57%)
– 5 times out of 35 in other positions      (14%)
– a total of 14 times out of 49      (29%)

Pots won at showdown – 2 out of 4      (50%)
Pots won without showdown – 9

PokerStars Tournament #221407921, No Limit Hold’em
Buy-In: $20.00/$0.80 USD
10 players
Total Prize Pool: $200.00 USD
Tournament started 2009/12/13 2:38:59 CT [2009/12/13 3:38:59 ET]
Tournament finished 2009/12/13 3:10:58 CT [2009/12/13 4:10:58 ET]
1: Radiopd (Lubbock), $40.00 (20%)

You finished in 1st place (eliminated at hand #36623508670).

42 hands played and saw flop:
– 2 times out of 6 while in small blind      (33%)
– 3 times out of 6 while in big blind      (50%)
– 2 times out of 30 in other positions      (7%)
– a total of 7 times out of 42      (17%)

Pots won at showdown – 3 out of 3      (100%)
Pots won without showdown – 4

Comments are closed.

  • Who is Instant Tragedy?

    Broadcast journalist, professional dad, poker player and writing phenomenon.
  • Search the archives…

  • What type of Tragedy?

  • Bankroll Challenge

    I've got 0 days to improve my bankroll to $1000