The chronicles of an online poker player

Instant Tragedy

September 27, 2009 at 5:07 am

Playing a 6 max KO tourney now…

Have made my entry back in KO bounties and currently chip leader with 25 left.

Hopefully I can take it down.

All what happens when I can’t sleep.

Update: Have 65K and still 1st when I turned the nut straight. Sorry Murray19!

Then he bluffed with air and I called thinking I had better air. Well Played sir.

Still chip leader with 23 left.

Next level at 500/1000 with the 125 ante will start to cause the short stacks to have to pick a hand and push.

People are making their moves.

Some people are waking up with hands. 3rd with 21 left.

2nd place with 16 left.

The Brunson scores again 2nd / 15

The Jackace < A3o 4th / 15

Final 2 tables…

Final 9…

Final table bubble…

Hand for hand is killing me. But Bubble play has moved me from 6th and looking at the bubble to 2nd and hiding from it.

Up to 100k in chips…

Which brings us to the hand of the morning…
Full Tilt Poker $5 + $0.50 Knockout No Limit Hold’em Tournament – t1500/t3000 Blinds + t400 – 4 players – View hand 299695

The Official Hand History Converter

CO: t211304 M = 34.64

BTN: t14405 M = 2.36

Hero (SB): t110069 M = 18.04

BB: t56816 M = 9.31

Pre Flop: (t6100) Hero is SB with T of spades T of diamonds

CO raises to t9000, 1 fold, Hero calls t7500, BB calls t6000

Flop: (t28600) T of hearts 9 of hearts J of spades (3 players)

Hero checks, BB checks, CO bets t28600,

What do you do?

Hero raises to t100669 all in, BB folds, CO says “u are so lucky”, CO says “i have KK”, CO requests TIME, CO calls t72069

Turn: (t229938) 7 of hearts (2 players – 1 is all in)

River: (t229938) Q of diamonds (2 players – 1 is all in)

Final Pot: t229938

CO shows K of spades K of clubs (a straight, King high)

Hero shows T of spades T of diamonds (three of a kind, Tens)

CO wins t229938

Out in 7th when My set of 10’s gets 4 outted by KK

Did I play it wrong? Or did I just get unlucky?

GG me!

  • 1

    It wasn’t a 4-outter. It was a 6-outter, because he could’ve hit one of the two remaining Kings in addition to the four Queens to take the pot.

    Other than that, you obviously played it right. After all, you got all your money in when your opponent only had 6 outs and you were fairly restrained preflop when others would go nuts with TT.

    Jordan on September 30th, 2009
  • 2

    Hello, Great hand analysis. It would be EXTREMELY hard for me to lay down trips on the flop. (Although there was also a flush threat, even a straight flush threat, etc.) The one variable important here is position. If you had been the one first to act, he might have folded those kings, to a perceived straight, or on the turn to a flush card. Well, it is no consolation, since you finished before the best money. I have a rule, that I do not go all in at the final table, unless I choose to bet it, (not calling all-in) since maniac hands can be anything. I just like to think that folding is the best money decision I can make, when facing any huge all-in gambles.

    Linda Dow on October 10th, 2009
  • 3

    Very True Linda,
    Also I could have laid the hand down and kept folding while waiting for the shorty to be eliminated.

    But I’m here to WIN a tourney, not just make it to the FT.

    Am I wrong?

    Instant Tragedy on October 12th, 2009
  • Who is Instant Tragedy?

    Broadcast journalist, professional dad, poker player and writing phenomenon.
  • Search the archives…

  • What type of Tragedy?

  • Bankroll Challenge

    I've got 0 days to improve my bankroll to $1000